Leave a Comment

Solar System Planets Information - Facts, Size, Cosmology Information

Solar System Planets Information:

Our galaxy is known as Milky Way Galaxy (or the Akash Ganga). It is spiral in shape.

Our solar system comprises a star (i.e. the sun), 8 planets, and countless fragments of left-overs called asteroids, meteors, comets, and satellites of the planets.

The Eight Planets Names in Order:

1. Mercury
2. Venus
3. Earth
4. Mars
5. Jupiter
6. Saturn
7. Uranus
8. Neptune

The Sun:

- It is one of the stars in the Milky Way galaxy.
- The sun is 109 times bigger than the earth and weight 2 x 10^27 tons.
- The energy of the sun comes from the fusion of hydrogen into helium.
- Sunlight takes Eight minutes 16.6 seconds to reach earth.
- The sun's present age is 5 billion years and the total life is 10 billion years.


- Revolution: 88 days (which is the fastest revolution in the Solar System).
- Maximum diurnal range of temperature. It's days are scoring hot and nights are frigid. 
- It has no satellites and there is no atmosphere.


- It is slightly smaller than Earth (500 km less in diameter), because of that it also called Earth's twin.
- Popularly known as the Evening star and Morning star. lt is seen in the east in the morning and in the west in the night.
- Brightest Planet (because of 0.65 % albedo, the reflecting power).
- The closest planet to earth.
-  It is the hottest planet among all in the solar system. The night and day temperatures are almost the same.
- Rotates backward (clockwise), unlike others.
- No satellite.


- Also called 'Red Planet'.
- Recent explorations have thrown light on the possibilities of the existence of life here.
- It has 2 satellites- Phobos and Deimos.


- Largest of all the planets (71 % of the total mass of all planets). Called 'Lord of the Heavens'.
- It gives off more energy than it receives from the sun, because of the heat inside.
- Its atmosphere contains hydrogen, helium, methane, ammonia.
- A great red spot is identified on it. It represents a huge storm.
- It has the fastest rotation time (9.8 hrs) in the Solar System.
- It has 63 satellites (Prominent are Europa, Ganymede & Callisto). Ganymede is the largest satellite of Solar System


- Second in size after Jupiter.
- Revolution: 29 years. Rotation: 10.3 hrs.
- It has the Least density of all (30 times less dense than earth).
- 31 satellites (Prominent is Titan).


- Rotates from north to south as it is inclined at an angle 98 to its orbit.
- Surrounded by a system of 9 faint rings.
- Has 21 satellite (prominent are Miranda, Ariel, etc.)


- Revolution: 165 years. Rotation: 15.7 days.


- Circumference: 11,000 km
- Diameter: 3475 km
- Gravitational pull: 1/6th of Earth.
- To complete one revolution around the earth it takes 27 days, 7 hrs, 43 minutes, and 11.47 second.
Rotates on its axis at exactly the same time as that of its revolution, that is why we see only one side of the moon (only 59 % of its surface).
- Moon has no Atmosphere.
- The light of the Moon takes 1.3 seconds to reach earth.
- Neil Armstrong and Edwin Aldrin reached the moon on July 21st, 1969 on Apollo XI (the landing spot is called 'Sea of tranquility').


- Asteroids are a series of extremely little planets or fragments of planets lying between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter. They are thought to be the debris leftover from the formation of inner planets.


- It has a head and a tail. Its tail originates only when it gets closer to the sun, the tail can be 20-30 million km long. It generally focuses away from the sun because of the force exerted by solar wind and radiation on the cometary material.

Metors (Shooting Stars):

- The meteors are probably the remains of comets which are scattered in the interplanetary space of the Solar System. In contact with the earth's atmosphere, they burn to friction.

0 Post a Comment:

Post a Comment